What Are The Regions And Capitals In Ghana?

Ghana, one of the leading African nations, refers to a country in Western Africa situated on the coastlines of the Gulf of Guinea. Spreading over a land area of about 228,533 square kilometers, it has about 30 million people. In addition, Ghana is famous for being the first black country located to the south of the Sahara desert, gaining its independence from colonial rule’s clutches. Moreover, Ghana is also immensely known for its natural wealth.

Regions And Capitals In Ghana 

Before 2020, Ghana comprised about ten regions. However, after a majority of votes in the referendum of December 17, 2018, six new areas were added to the territory of Ghana. These six regions were created out of the division of already existing parts. For example, Oti Region was carved out from the Volta Region. The Brong-Ahafo Region was divided into the Bono East and Ahafo regions. Moreover, the Savannah Region and the North East Region were carved out from the Northern part. In addition, the Western North came up from the Western Region.

After creating new regions, regional ministers were appointed for all the areas by the President of the Republic of Ghana along with the Parliament of Ghana. Here’s the complete list of all the 16 regions of Ghana and their capitals.

Region Capital
The Northern Region Tamale
The Western Region Sekondi
The Upper West Region Wa
The Eastern Region Koforidua
The Upper East Region Bolgatanga
The Central Region Cape Coast
The Ashanti Region Kumasi
The Volta Region Ho
The Greater Accra Region Accra
The Bono East Region Techiman
The Oti Region Dambai
The Western North Region Sefwi Wiawso
The North-East Region Nareligu
The Savannah Region Damango
The Bono Region Sunyani
The Ahafo Region Goaso

Let’s discuss these regions and their capitals in detail.

The Northern Region 

The Northern Region is the largest region of Ghana, covering about 31% of the total land area of Ghana till 2018. Spreading over 70384 square kilometers, the Northern Region comprises 14 districts, along with Tamale is its capital. However, in December 2018, the North East Region and the Savannah Region were created out of the Northern Region.

The Western Region 

With Sekondi as its capital, the Western Region stretches from the Central Region to the Ivory Coast. Spreading over 13,842 square kilometers, the Western Region has about 22 districts. Moreover, it ranks with the population of 2,060,585. Besides, the Western Region is famous for Cape Three, where high quantities of commercial crude oil were found in June 2007.

The Upper West Region 

The Upper West Region was the youngest region of Ghana until the six new areas were carved out. Founded by the Head of the State, the Upper West Region is present in the northwestern corner of Ghana. Moreover,the capital of the Upper West Region is Wa, which is also the most populated town in the entire region of the Upper West.

The Eastern Region 

The Eastern Region, with Koforidua as its capital, lies in the southern part of the country. The people living in the Eastern Region are mainly Akans, and their significant languages include English, Ewe, Akan, Hausa, and Krobo. In addition, the economy of the Eastern Region mainly comprises high-capacity power generation.

The Upper East Region 

The Upper East Region covers about 2.7% of the country’s land area and is situated in the northern part. Encompassing over 8,842 square kilometers, the Upper East Region is the home to the most significant regions, such as Paga, Zebilla, Bawku, and Navrongo,along with Bolgatanga as its capital.

The Central Region 

The Central Region is home to many tourist attractions, forts, castles, and beaches. Founded in 1970, this region has many reputed educational institutions. Moreover, the economy of the Central Region is mainly focused on tourism and industrial minerals. Besides,the capital of the central region is Cape Coast.

The Ashanti Region 

The Ashanti Region is the third-largest region of Ghana, covering about 10.2% of the total land area of Ghana. Spreading over 24,389 square kilometers, it was created on April 4, 1959. Despite being the third-largest region, the Ashanti Region is the most populous region, with about 19.4% of the total population of Ghana. However, the Ashanti Region is famous for producing large amounts of cocoa and gold bars. Among the various districts, Kumasi is the capital.

The Volta Region

The Volta Region, comprising 25 districts, lies to the west of the Republic of Togo and to the East of Lake Volta. The New Patriotic Party carved it in December 2018. It’s a multi-ethnic region containing multiple ethnic groups such as Guan, Ewe, and Akan. Besides, the capital of the Volta Region is Ho.

The Greater Accra Region 

The Greater Accra Region spans over 3,245 square kilometers and is the smallest of all regions. Being the country’s national capital, the Greater Accra Region is the second most populous region in the country. Moreover, with Accra as its capital, the part has about 17.7% of the total land area of Ghana.

The Bono East Region 

The Bono East Region was crafted from the Brong Ahafo Region, with Techiman as its new capital.

The Oti Region 

The Oti Region was created from the division of the Volta Region, founded in December 2018. The capital of the Oti Region is Dambai.

The Western North Region 

The Western North Region comprises nine districts with Sefwi Wiawso as its capital. The ethnic culture of the region mainly comprises Sefwis. In addition, the major languages spoken in the region include Sefwi, French, English, and Akan. Moreover, this region is famous for gold mining companies present here.

The North-East Region

The North East Region was founded in December 2018 after its separation from the Northern Region. It’s situated in the northern part of the country, with Nalerigu as its capital.

The Savannah Region 

The Savannah Region, located in the country’s northwestern region, comprises seven districts and seven constituencies. With Damango as its capital, it’s the newest region of the country.

The Bono Region 

The Bono Region was founded from the remains of the Brong-Ahafo region, also regarded as the Green Region of Ghana. Its capital Sunyani is the cleanest capital city in the entire country.

The Ahafo Region 

The Ahafo region is another region among the newly created states with its capital at Goaso.

Related Posts

How To Check BECE Results

West African countries like Ghana and Nigeria have a Basic Education Certificate Examination (BECE). The BECE results state whether a student is qualified for taking admission in…


CSSPS Placement Checker

Computerized school selection and placement system, in short CSSPS, is used by the students who have passed the BECE. CSSPS placement checker is the online portal that…

Top 13 Nursing Training Colleges In Ghana

With the rising demand for health care centers in Ghana, the number of health training institutions has also risen to 79. Besides, nursing is one of the…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *